UFC Minutes Tuesday, March 22, 2022

The University Faculty Council UFC held its scheduled Spring meeting via livestream broadcast.

The meeting began on time at 1:30 pm.

35 zoom attendees at the start of the meeting.

- 1. President Pamela Whitten presided over the meeting, and called the meeting to order.
- 2. Minutes of the previous meeting on Nov 30th, 2021 were approved without changes.
- 3. Executive committee business discussion led off by the co-chairs of the UFC, Marietta Simpson, followed by John Watson.

Marietta Simpson provided the following updates:

- Update of climate action planning taskforce; individual names sent to President's desk for consideration.
- Update on Policy review committee being chaired by Alex Tamford, Chair of the Policy review committee regarding Policy ACA-17 Faculty Boards of Review, will be circulated and discussed at the next UFC meeting on April 22nd; feedback requested
- Reminder that next UFC meeting will be in person on IUPUI campus

John Watson provided the following updates:

- Dr. Deborah Garrison has accepted the position as Vice Chancellor and Dean of IU Fort Wayne
- In other searches, candidates are being interviewed for the position of IUPUI Associate Vice Chancellor of Undergraduate studies and Dean of University College
- 4. President Whitten provided the Officer's Report

University update on current and completed searches, and announced Senior leadership changes:

- Rahul Shrivastav is the new IU Bloomington Executive VP and Provost
- Dr Dwayne Pinkney; Executive VP for Finance and Administration; long range financial planning, budget planning and investment, and others, including public safety
- Anthony Prather: VP Chief Legal Council
- Nancy Paton: VP and Chief Communications and Marketing Officer; will assume duties in April
- Susan Sciame-Giesecke accepted position of VP for Regional Campuses and Online Education; Internal search

Ongoing searches

- IU VP for Human Resources
- IU VP for Student Success
- Executive VP Chancellor of IUPUI search is ongoing; 4 finalists did not result in an appointment. Next steps have been discussed with the search committee.
- Andy Klein currently acting as the Interim Chancellor.

Faculty Awards and Honors:

- Five New Distinguished Professors named and will be honored at a symposium in April in Bloomington
- Two faculty members achievements; Prof Martin Jerrold and Prof David Clemmer cofounders of start-up company Megadalton Solutions will license to Waters Corp an IU developed technology known as Charge Detection Mass Spectrometry. Prof's Jerrold and Clemmer will receive the 2nd ever IU Wiley Innovation Catalyst Medal
- Several new AAAS Fellows: American Association for the Advancement of Science: Two IU Bloomington faculty appointed plus four IUSM faculty appointed.
- Faculty highlight: Professor Sara Heath, IU Kokomo, played a major role in helping a segregated secondary school to become listed on the National Register Of Historic Places.

Additional Comments:

President Whitten expressed concern about people of Ukraine and stated IU offers ongoing support to IU members who have family and collaborations in Ukraine. IU has reached out to those with ties to Ukraine, including students. IU joins the international community in hoping for a speedy and peaceful resolution to the conflict and in the interim stands ready to offer support to students and family who are impacted.

Committee Discussion: There were no questions and comments from the zoom attendees.

- 5. Proposed amendments to ACA-05, Bylaws of the University Faculty Council of Indiana University
 - Elaine Roth, representative of the UFC executive committee led the discussion. The proposed amendment requests changes for the voting process to be changed to a supermajority rather than by unanimous vote. Reasons include that it is more efficient, more common, and in keeping with IU Bloomington bylaws which also requires a supermajority. Raised proposed amendment for consideration of the UFC and for a vote.

Committee Discussion: Following discussion by committee, the committee voted, and the proposed amendments passed.

- 6. Update on Executive Searches
 - Hannah Buxbaum, Chair of Search Committee for VP for Student Success.

Hannah Buxbaum described this new position: intended to have a student centered alignment; advocate for student interest and elevate student perspectives; Identify strategies to address challenges to student success and elevate existing practices; university-wide role; address student success from an institutional perspective; individual will work with academic leadership and at campus level. Search is underway; working with search firm and search committee.

Committee Discussion: Committee members raised several discussion points.

• Thomas A. Morrison, Chair of Search Committee for Vice President for Human Resources Working with search firm and committee to identify candidates.

Role is one that where individual will have higher education background as well as large university and corporate settings.

Ten initial candidates were identified. Three advanced to interviews, but none were selected to move forward. Next steps and new candidate selection underway.

Committee Discussion: none

- 7. Proposed resolution of the University Faculty Council on the 50th Anniversary of Title IX
 - Discussion of U9-2022 was led by Kathy Bayless, Executive Director, IU Bloomington Campus Recreational Sports (retired). Recognize individuals who paved the way; celebrate notable progress eliminating gender discrimination, affirm our commitment as an institution; eliminate any barriers that remain; history demonstrates that complacency opens the door to regression. Content of the resolution was read.

Committee Discussion: several committee members voiced their support; minor grammatical changes to the resolution were suggested.

Following the discussion, the committee voted, and the resolution passed.

8. The committee approved and seconded a motion to adjourn the meeting early. The meeting was concluded at 2:26 pm.

The meeting report was prepared by Dr. Angela Bruzzaniti, UFC Secretary